Giving Thanks?

Thanksgiving is upon us, where did the time go this year? It seems like yesterday it was New Years day. My blog today will be about my traditions and what i am thankful for!

Let’s start with Thanksgiving morning, when i wake up i put on a pot of coffee and start helping my mom make oatmeal and than i make sure NBC is on and the Macy day parade is playing. By this time our turkey is cooking nice and we are starting on our side dishes. My mom always made two stuffing’s, regular stuffing with bread crumbs and than one she put oysters in( i lived very close to the ocean so seafood is in everything). We would cook up fresh collard greens, made with fatback of course! My mom would make three kinds of biscuits regular, sweet potatoes and cheese yummy!!! Than i would get a can of creamy corn out for my dad(only kind he liked). My mom most of the time would already have dessert made by then, she would make an apple pie, a chocolate pie, sweet potatoes, and chcocolate cake!! We most of the time ate around 3 and after dinner we would all go outside and play football.

 

That was when i was little a lot has changed, i am not a little girl anymore and both my parents have passed on but not their traditions. I am very thankful my parents have passed these traditions on to me. I am thankful to have my boyfriend and his amazing family who love and supports me. I am thankful to have God in my life and thankful to live in America!

What are you thankful for?

 

As Always,

Happy Reading!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

