‘Tis Herself

Type of Book: Memoir

Author: Maureen O’Hara With John Nicoletti

First Line: “My whole life was foretold to me.”

Last Line: “I’ve already been known to use a cane to get around from time to-the thumping is still to come”

                                       tis herself                 

A True Irishwoman

When I first decided to pick up ‘Tis Herself, I didn’t expect to feel like I really knew her by the end of the book. The First couple chapters were probably my favorite, I am all about learning the history of someone like their mom and dad and siblings. My Favorite Paragraph was On page 3 paragraph 3

Being An Irishwoman means many things to me. An Irishwoman is strong and feisty. She has guts and stands up for what she believes in. She believes she is the best at whatever she does and proceeds through life with that knowledge. She can face any hazard that life throws her way and stay with it until she wins. She is loyal to her kinsmen and accepting of others. She’s not above a sock in the jaw if you have it coming. She is only on her knees before God. Yes, I am most definitely an Irishwoman.”

 

Ms. O’Hara always loved her Irish roots and fault to keep them. Ms. Maureen was born Maureen Fitzsimons on August 17, 1920 in Dublin, Ireland. She was born to two amazing parents and had three sisters and two brothers. The one thing that amazed me is how normal her childhood was. No drunken father or mother who abandoned the family. Nope a nice normal Catholic family. She started in Plays when she was 6 and never looked back. Her first movie came when she was 17 and she stumbled upon Charles Laughton, and that is when her movie career started. This book goes on to talk about her love life and her heartbreak. If you really want to get to know Ms. O’Hara then pick up this book. All in all I give this book a solid 4 stars. Maybe if she had a little more excitement in her life it would have been 5 stars.

 

 

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in My Reviews! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

