Insanity

Type of book: Indie/YA Suspense

Author: Lauren Hammond

First Sentence: “If these walls could talk I wonder what they’d tell me.”

Last Sentence: “You are a liar.” 

insanity

            Mind Blowing

I came across this book when I was searching amazon for books to buy and the description was enticing. This book is the first in the Asylum series(right there drew me in, a series called Asylum ummm I need to read) and you meet Adelaide or addy, she is locked up at Oak Hill Insane Asylum. She doesn’t know why she is there or how she even got there. The story goes back and forth from present time in the asylum, to before she got there. Before she was put in the Asylum she was a 17 year old who lived with her abusive alcoholic father, whose mother left when she was nine. Her father never lets her leave the house but when he is at work she walks, walks everywhere. One day when she is on one of her walks a boy pulls up and that’s when you meet Damien, he is sweet, cute and everything she never knew she wanted. They of course fall in love, but it has to be a secret because Addy’s father would kill her if he found out. Also Damien comes from a very wealthy family and his mother doesn’t approve of their relationship. Now you learn all this from her flash backs, in the present she is locked up and sharing a room with Aurora. Who acts crazy but actually isn’t as crazy as everyone thinks. There are two doctors one is very mean and the other for some reason really cares about addy. This story has so many twists and turns, I actually couldn’t figure it out till the end.

I am not going to lie this book did not pull me in right away but once I got a couple chapters in I was hooked and I can not wait to read the second one. Ms. Hammond is very talented and is a amazing writer, she tells a wonderful story that really engrosses you. I also want to point out this story is set in the 1950’s, so what happens in the asylum most likely wouldn’t happen in todays time or though I hope not. The parts in the asylum can be very descriptive and really makes you shiver. I am giving this book 5 stars because the writing is amazing and this story is so unique!

My favorite quote from this book:

  “I just want you to know that you are my sun, my moon, and my stars. My heaven, my hell, and my earth. I’d do anything for you. I’d go anywhere for you. If you ever left me, I’ll follow you.”

Check it out on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13557662-insanity?ac=1

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in My Reviews! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Insanity

  1. Great review! It also took me a while to connect, but once I did I couldn’t put it down. The second book is just as good!

Leave a Reply

