A Toast To The Good Times

Type of book: Indie Romance

Authors: Steph Campbell and Liz Reinhardt

First Sentence: “I swipe a wet rag over the black laminate bar top, sending stray popcorn and mixed nuts flying across the room and onto the freshly swept floor”

book2    

A Captivating Struggle

I discovered this book on Goodreads through my best friend sending me this book as a recommendation. The story line seemed uniquely interesting which of course meant I had to check it out! I had high expectations when I started A Toast to the Good Times by Steph Campbell since I have read a few books written by this author (some in conjunction with Liz Reinhhardt) including: Lengths and Delicate. After reading these amazing books I was expecting a well written, engaging novel, particularly upon noticing this story was told from a male POV. I should let it be known that male POV novels are my favorites because I feel these types of books are not written often and those that do write them, from my experience have done a fabulous job writing a compelling novel that gives true insight into the male main character. (My other favorite male POV is My Only by N.K. Smith)
Once I began this novel I realized this was a fresh take on the classic bad boy/womanizer desiring the naive good girl. This story opens with gorgeous, flirty Landry at his bar in Boston with his platonic, nerdy roommate Mila on the day before Christmas Eve where Landry drinks too much which results in him seeing Mila as more than his platonic roommate he’s lived with for months. He then receives a phone call from his sister Paisley that she needs him to come home to New Jersey because she has big news to share with her family. I do not want to spoil this story for those who wish to read it but I will give a generic synopsis. Landry travels home to New Jersey to face his family whom he has not seen in over a year, bumps into several people from his past that alter how he views his life and women. I thought this story was captivating, engaging, and addicting from start to finish to view first-hand Landry’s struggles with becoming the kind of guy a nice girl would want to be with, instead of just seeing him for his good looks. All the characters were well developed, likable, and humorous especially Landry, Mila, Henry, Paisley, and Toni.

Overall, I rate this book a 4.5/5 stars for its realistic, engaging novel about a womanizing asshole who finally saw what was standing right in front of him. I encourage you to pick up this novel if you enjoy male POV, an engaging novel about struggles in early adulthood, and want to read a twist on the clique bad boy tale.
About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Co-reviewer Lauren and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Toast To The Good Times

  1. Tessa says:

    Love your review! I love these two authors together. Lengths was one of my favorites from last year, so I’ll definitely have to check this one out!

  2. emmegmel says:

    🙂 this review was actually written by my co-reviewer lauren! I think it is still .99, you can’t beat that price!

Leave a Reply

