Interview With Katelynn Pinson!! <3

 

As a blogger I get to meet and interact with so many amazing writers, but my favorites are the new ones just starting out. because of my nosiness on Facebook, I came across this very talented new writer. I like to introduce Katelynn Pinson, she is working on her first novel “In Spades”, that I am dying to get my hands on!k.pinson

 Ok Katelynn tell me a little about yourself.

Alright. Well I am 22 years old, soon to be 23. I am basically a male in a female body. I cuss a little bit too much in good company. I like to be in control always. But I am quiet in the same respect. I currently work as a manager for an assisted living program working with mentally challenged adults. I hope to finish the rest of my schooling and get my degree as a Music Therapist. I love music and helping people. Both are very important to me. My favorite foods are Mexican and Italian. My favorite color is Pink. I have a Cockapoo dog that is basically my child, except she’s worse than any child I’ve ever babysat. Lol.

Have you always known you wanted to be a writer?

Honestly, it’s hard for me to even consider myself a “writer” or “author” now. Haha. I have always liked to write. I did it throughout high school and was told that I was good at it but reading was always more of my forte’. I usually average 5-10 books a week. So I decided to create a website and read and review which gave me the best of both worlds. I have SO much respect for so many authors that I feel like a very small entity among them. I was also afraid I would mimic or copy a different story unconsciously because of the amount of books I read. That is until Daxton came into my life and slowly but surely the story evolved and I know it is a unique, never been told story. With the support and push from a few amazing people that I have met a long the way (Shout-out to the CCC) I have decided that it was my turn to be a little selfish and get my story out.

 So your book you are working on is called “In Spades” How did you come up with the title and the idea for this book?

I can’t take full credit for this name actually lol My real life Daxton muse and I were talking one day, way back when and I was asking what good band names would be, never expecting to actually name the book after the band name and he was throwing out all kinds of crazy band names and when he said ‘In Spades” I knew that was the one. I love the meaning of the Phrase “In Spades” and it plays a big role in the story more so than just simply the name of the band that Daxton is in. I think you all will grow to appreciate the phrase also.

 I know you said you are not sure when your book will be ready but can you give us an idea when it might be release? Do you have any ideas for a cover?

I am hoping for April 15th or sooner. The story is almost completely written..give or take a couple of days. Then I have editing and beta reading. So yeah, I’m hoping for mid April but I will keep everyone updated. As far as the cover goes, I have some ideas. I have been shopping around for a cover artist. There are so many amazing ones out there that it is hard to choose. I know that I want to incorporate the shattered mirror as well as Avalynn and blue eyes as these are all super important aspects of the story.

 Who do you look up to?

I would have to say that I look up most to my mom. She was a single mother and always had to keep 2-3 jobs to put food on the table for us. We weren’t always easy either. Being normal, get in to everything, kids. I give her a lot of credit for not murdering one of us…haha. She had to grow up entirely too fast, having 4 kids by the time she was 23. I have a lot of respect and appreciation for her. She is beautiful and courageous and has an immense love for people that I only hope to amount to the woman that she is.

O.k Last question,

Do you have any advice to new writers, like yourself?

I know that personally I have to take a step back, take a deep breath and let the story write itself. Don’t force it! It’s almost impossible for me to not want to just write and write and write and get the story out there as soon as possible because of all the amazing fans I’ve accumulated that want to read it. But I know in the end it would be a disappointment if I did that. I want you all to fall in love with the story the way it is supposed to be told, regardless of how long it takes me to write it. Secondly I would say- Make friends with authors, bloggers, book lovers alike. Please and Thank you goes a long way. I am so blessed to be in some amazing circles and to have met/talked to some awesome people. That’s the best thing you can do to get your voice heard. Excite those around you that believe in what you do. I write for me but most importantly I write for you all–to make my story heard, loved and appreciated.

I just want to say thank you again for letting me interview you and I can not wait for your book!!

Thank you so much Emily. It has been my pleasure and I look forward to the up and coming things on your blog and also to get the story of Daxton and Avalynn out to you all. 🙂

 

I feel very lucky that I got to give this interview, Ms. Pinson was so nice and really great in this whole process, this being both of ours first interviews. I know after reading this you want to know more about her and her new book! The links for her twitter, facebook, and all the other ways to contact her will be listed at the bottom! Now go and spread the word of this new author because it is authors like Ms. Pinson who are our great writers of the future!

Look her up on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/KPinson/548199141880189?fref=ts

Follow her on twitter:https://twitter.com/KatelynnPinson

Look up her new book on: Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17510975-in-spades?ac=1

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Interviews!! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview With Katelynn Pinson!! <3

  1. What a great interview! Glad I came across the link from Facebook 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about In Spades. I think it’s amazing that you work full time, you’re going to school, and you’re staying dedicated to your writing. Stick with it!

Leave a Reply

