The Doll Graveyard By Lois Ruby

doll graveyard

Synopsis: The house at Cinder Creek hides many secrets. Shelby and Brian Tate have heard heated voices crying out in the night. They’ve noticed the unsettling way things move around on their own. But the most chilling thing about their new home is the cemetery someone’s built out back. The graves are tiny, only big enough for dolls.

AND THE DOLLS WON’T STAY BURIED.

Soon Shelby’s learning all about them. Betsy Anne’s angelic appearance hides a raging fire behind her eyes, while Baby Daisy changes faces as quickly as she changes moods. And Miss Amelia’s cracked porcelain skin and twisted lips only hint at the pain she once endured at the hands of a very angry girl. If Shelby can help the dolls find peace, she and her family might actually be happy at Cinder Creek. But if she can’t–the dolls will have their revenge….


What I thought: First I would like to point out that this was given to me through NetGalley for an honest review. This story is a middle school paranormal but as a 25 year I honestly enjoyed it. The main character is fun and outspoken, she made me laugh a lot. The dolls are truly creepy, there was actually parts where I had to stop reading because I was scaring myself. I think If I was a young middle school girl I would like it but would definitely be scared. When reading this my favorite show from when I was kid kept popping in my mind, “Are You Afraid of the Dark?” which was on nickelodeon in the early and mid ’90s. The show always scared me but I couldn’t stop watching, and this book left me feeling the same way. 

I gave it 5/5 stars, I truly enjoyed and will recommend it to fellow paranormal lovers. I don’t think that just because it is a middle school book, that only kids can read it. If you are parent deciding if your kid should read it, I honestly think anyone 12 and up would do fine with it, anyone younger might be a little scared but hey, if someone younger wants to read it let them; never stop a kid form reading!

If you already read it leave me a comment below and let me know what you thought of it! Also if you are a parent you want to know more about it for your kids leave a comment below or email me at northernbellebookworm@gmail.com I would be happy to answer questions!

Find it on GoodReads.

Find it at Amazon.

Find it at Barnes&Noble.

Also don’t forget to check your local library for a copy!!

*I want to thank NetGalley and Scholastic for giving me a copy and being able to enjoy it! Thank You!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Goodreads, My Reviews! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

