The River By Beverly Lewis


20665079

She looked once more at the dreaded river. Since Anna’s death, it had been such a barrier…a place and a moment she could not seem to move past.

A line I can’t move beyond…

The River

Tilly and Ruth, two formerly Amish sisters, are plagued by unresolved relationships when they reluctantly return to Lancaster County for their parents’ landmark wedding anniversary. Since departing their Plain upbringing, Tilly has married an Englisher, but Ruth remains single and hasn’t entirely forgotten her failed courtship with her Amish beau.

Past meets present as Tilly and Ruth yearn for acceptance and redemption. Can they face the future in the light of a

past they can’t undo?


I was given an advanced reader copy by NetGalley, I want to thank NetGallley and Bethany House Publishers for letting me be one of the firsts to read it. This review was done by AnnMarie Bilbow.

When ever you are thinking of a good Amish book to read who’s the first author that pops in your head? Beverly Lewis, and if she didn’t pop in your head, then you just haven’t read enough Amish books. I have read all her books, so I was super excited when I found out I was getting an ARC of Mrs. Lewis’s new book.

The River is set in Lancaster county, like most of Mrs.Lewis’s books, but this one seemed a little different. First off it was harder for me to get into, it was a slow start. But once I was into it, it was great and brought out everything I love about her books. Like I said this takes place in Lancaster county Pennsylvania, there are two sisters who were once amish, Tilly and Ruth, they left their Amish community and are now live among the English (that is what they call the non Amish). The Girls are asked by their brother to come home for their parents anniversary. Tilly who is the oldest is hesitant, first because her family blames her for Ruth leaving and because of her younger sisters death, that had haunted her for years. They return home and finally face their past, Tilly has never had a great relationship with her father and she finally finds out why. And Ruth is going to finally figure out if leaving was really what she needed. This story is all about forgiveness and how you can grow from your past. My favorite part and character is Tilly’s uncle, who she stays with when she comes home. I have always notice there is a “wise” woman in all Mrs.Lewis’s books, and that character always makes me smile but this time the wise character is the uncle. He is understanding and loving, and always has the right advice.

I always love her books and I always walk away feeling like I learned something from each one. Forgiveness is hard but with love and God, anything is possible.

Please go and read her books and get lost in the simple lives of the Amish people.

Find it on Goodreads.

Buy it on Amazon.

Buy it on Barnes&Noble.

Learn more about Lancaster please visit http://www.lancasterpa.com

As Always,

Happy Readings!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

