How To Fall by Jane Casey

how to fall

Sixteen-year-old Jess Tennant has never met any of her relatives, until her mom suddenly drags her out of London to spend the summer in the tiny English town where her family’s from. Her mom’s decision is surprising, but even more surprising is the town’s reaction to Jess. Everywhere she goes, people look at her like they’ve seen a ghost. In a way, they have—she looks just like her cousin Freya, who died shortly before Jess came to town.

Jess immediately feels a strange connection to Freya, whom she never got to meet alive. But the more Jess learns about the secrets Freya was keeping while she was alive, the more suspicious Freya’s death starts to look. One thing is for sure: this will be anything but the safe, boring summer in the country Jess was expecting.

Beloved author Jane Casey breaks new ground with How to Fall, a thrilling and insightfully written mystery.


*I received this copy in exchange for an honest review, Thank you NetGalley and St Martin’s Griffin.

My rating: 3/5 Stars.

Publication date: August 26, 2014

I love a good mystery, especially ones taking place in England. There is just something spooky about it. When I saw that I was getting a ARC of this book I was super excited. I have never heard of Jane Casey but the synopsis sounded promising. I want to first say the mystery part of this book did not disappoint. You meet Jess and she ends up spending her summer in her moms hometown, with her moms family that she has never met. You find out that Jess’ looks just like her cousin Freya, who died the year before but you are not sure how. The town is very secretive and just creepy, in my opinion.  I love how Jess is so curious and really wants to know what happen to Freya.

Now what I didn’t like. First, I couldn’t connect with any of the characters; not even the main one. I need to feel something for the people I read about, I honestly didn’t care about any of them. I wanted to keep reading to figure it out but I didn’t care what happen to any of them. Second, the love story between Jess and Will was odd to me. Again I think it was because I didn’t connect with any of them.

I do think this was a good mystery but just needed a little more. I would recommend it to people because the only thing I didn’t like was I couldn’t connect with the characters, that doesn’t mean everyone will not connect.

Where to find it:

Check it out on Goodreads.

Buy it on Amazon.

Buy it on Barnes&Noble.

 

As Always,

Happy Readings!!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

