The Swallow: A Ghost Story By Charis Cotter

Synopsis:In 1960s Toronto, two girls retreat to their attics to escape the loneliness and isolation of their lives. Polly lives in a house bursting at the seams with people, while Rose is often left alone by her busy parents. Polly is a down-to-earth dreamer with a wild 20300222imagination and an obsession with ghosts; Rose is a quiet, ethereal waif with a sharp tongue. Despite their differences, both girls spend their days feeling invisible and seek solace in books and the cozy confines of their respective attics. But soon they discover they aren’t alone–they’re actually neighbors, sharing a wall. They develop an unlikely friendship, and Polly is ecstatic to learn that Rose can actually see and talk to ghosts. Maybe she will finally see one too! But is there more to Rose than it seems? Why does no one ever talk to her? And why does she look so… ghostly? When the girls find a tombstone with Rose’s name on it in the cemetery and encounter an angry spirit in her house who seems intent on hurting Polly, they have to unravel the mystery of Rose and her strange family… before it’s too late





 

*I was given a copy of this book by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you NetGalley and Tundra Books.

When I was little I always had imaginary friends and was always reading. I would try to find the smallest place so I could hide away and be alone with my books. When reading this I got that feeling I got when I was a little girl, even though there isn’t any imaginary friends; but there is ghosts and they are kinda like imaginary friends?  🙂

I first saw this book one BookTube, Giselle from BO-OK NERD Canada,  ( I will link her channel below) when she described it I got very excited but then she said it was an ARC and I got sad again. So I added it on Goodreads and hoped to get it when it came out. Well I didn’t have to wait that long, because the next day I saw it on NetGalley and I requested it right away.  I have to admit this was one of my most excited NetGalley books I got improved for. 

Now more about the actual book! This book is a middle grade, and lately I find myself liking them more and more.  It is set in the 1960’s in Toronto, Cananda. There are two little girls, they live in a duplex house and can hear each other through the walls. Polly is a feisty little thing, she has a large family and feel like she has no place of her own, oh and she really wants to see a ghost. Rose is more quiet with a small family but sometimes it seems she’s all alone, and she wish she couldn’t see the dead. They both escape to their attic to be alone and to read, but while they are up there they find each other.

This story is so cute and sad at the same time. I fell in love with both girls right away and really wanted to know more about them. Polly swears Rose is a ghost and Rose thinks she’s crazy until she finds a mysterious grave and she question who she really is. There is some spooky parts and parts that make you wonder how these two young girls can be so brave. The mystery in this is great for a middle grade book and it leaves you guessing.

I also want to mention the cover on this book, it’s beautiful! I think the art work is great, and it really goes great with this story. I am ordering my own copy because I need it on my bookcase!

I hope you will give this book a chance and get lost in this little quant ghost story! Of course I gave this story 5/5 Stars!!!

Find in on Barnes&Noble

As Always,

Happy Reading!!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Goodreads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

