The Book of Ivy By Amy Engel

the book of ivy d4f57-synopsis2bgray2b262bwhite

After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him…

Title: The Book of Ivy

Author: Amy Engel

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Published: November 11, 2014

First Sentence: “No one wears white wedding dresses anymore.”

Last Sentence: “I take a deep breath and let go of the fence.”

My Rating: 5/5!!! ❤

My Thoughts:

I first saw this book on Booktube and there was multiple people talking about it. I added it to my Goodreads without even reading the Synopsis. A couple days after that i heard someone explaining this really cool new Dystopian and i was like ” wow i need to read that” and come to find out it was The Book of Ivy they were talking about. As you probably read in the synopsis this takes place about 50 years in the future and there is no longer a USA but instead a small nation in the midwest which has two sides and a fence around the whole area. The main character is Ivy and I really connected with her. She is 16 and about to get married to someone she never met and she has to kill him. But her future husband turns out to be Bishop, who is the presidents son and is nothing what she expected. Now Ivy has to make the choice between her family and restoring them to their spot or finally listening to herself and have her own future. 
I fall in love with the characters right away. Ivy is so much like me and i related to her. She is the youngest and she feels like she has to live up to her sister and its a hard thing to do. Then there is Bishop who is her new husband and so amazing, he has now taken the spot of my new book boyfriend. The way he is so caring to Ivy and the way he just wants her to be happy makes my heart melt. Add in all the other issues and you really have an amazing Dystopian and will be on my top favorite for this year!

Find this book on Goodreads.

Find it on Amazon.

Find the Author.

***Please go check out my instagram where i am giving away two copies of this book!! http://instagram.com/northernbellebookworm/

As Always,

Happy Readings!!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

