Slammed By Colleen Hoover

slammed

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Title: Slammed

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: First by Colleen Hoover. Second by Simon & Schuster

Published: January 5, 2012 and September 18, 2012

First Sentence: “Kel and I load the last two boxes into the U-haul.”

Last Sentence:”Love, Mom.”

My Rating: 5/5!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

I stayed up till 3am to finish this book and when I was done I felt so…..I honestly I don’t even know what I felt. This story brings out so many emotions. You will cry, laugh, fall in love and have your heart broken all in a matter of pages! Layken is the main character, she’s 18 and moving from Texas to Michigan to her moms home state. She is angry about having to move and sad because all her memories she has with her dad are in Texas. Her father just passed away 7 months ago and it turned her whole family upside down. Ms. Hoover really gets you to feel all of Lakes( that’s what her family calls her) pain, her dad was her best friend and now he’s gone. First day she is at her new house in Michigan she meets a young boy name Caulder who is Kels(her little brother) age and a older brother who is gorgeous. The Gorgeous older brother is Will and is about to change Lake forever. The way these two interact with each other is great and the whole time you are rooting for them to make it, but there is many obstacles and devastating consequences standing in their way.

I have never seen slammed poetry or ever really care about it until this book. Will is the one who performs and it really got me wanting to learn more. I looked up some on YouTube, it really is amazing and takes a lot of talent. The Poems you read in this book is beautiful and really bring some tears to your eyes. I also have to thank Lake and Will for introducing me to The Avett Brothers, their music is very different and i relate to their songs.

I really connected with this book on so many levels. I lost my parents at a young age and the pain is so different then people realize. Reading this brought back all those memories and pain but also made me realize that love brought me through and love will keep me going. I feel like if you take anything away from this book, it’s to love with all you have.

Find it on Goodreads.

Buy it on Amazon.

Visit Colleen Hoover.

As Always,

Happy Readings!!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

