Something Strange and Deadly By Susan Dennard

ssd

d4f57-synopsis2bgray2b262bwhite

Philadelphia 1876. The Dead are rising. A zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor Fitt. Whoever controls the Dead Army has her brother. She avoids her mother’s choice of husband for the lab of Spirit Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel. The situation threatens her reputation, and the lives of everyone in the city.

Title: Something Strange and Deadly

Author: Susan Dennard

Publisher: Harper Teen

Published: July 24, 2012

First Sentence: “Dead!” a women screamed “It’s the dead.”

Last Sentence: “I drifted into a healing sleep and dreamed of Elijah’s smile.”

My Rating: 4/5 Stars!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

This is the Second book I read for Rybsat( scroll down to read all about Rybsat) and it took me a lot longer then I thought it would to finish. This book has been on my TBR for about 2 years and I finally bought it last year. The first thing I really love about this book is the cover, I mean it is gorgeous! I also love that it takes place in Philadelphia because i live right across the river from it and get to explore it all the time. This book is a little different from what i usually read, it is a Steampunk, zombie, historical book and I have never read anything that combined all of that together. Lets talk about the main character Eleanor Fitt, I really like her. Eleanor is from a proper family but has this badass spunk that girls from that time period shouldn’t have. Her main goal in this whole book is to get her brother home safe and she teams up with some amazing people. The people she teams up with are called Spirit-Hunters, the main guy is Joseph, he is Creole and can feel spirits and the dead. Next is Jie who I thought was a guy at first but really is a small Chinese lady who is so kick butt, my new role model. And lastly you have Daniel, who is mean, complicated and so swoon worthy. I really love the way they all interact with each other and how you learn each one of their stories. 

I really did enjoy this book once I got into it. I think because it was a slow start, it took me a while to read it. I love how this story really is about finding her brother and trying to keep her family going. Yes, there is a small romance in there but it’s not the main focus point and that can be good sometimes. I will surely be continuing on with this series and pick up whatever Ms. Dennard decides to write!

Find it on Goodreads.

Buy it on Amazon.

Visit Susan Dennard.

As Always,

Happy Readings!!!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Goodreads, My Reviews! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

