The Kiss of Deception By Mary E. Pearson

tkod

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

Title: The Kiss of Deception

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Publisher: Henry Holt

Published: July 8, 2014

First Sentence: “Today was the day a thousand dreams would die and a single dream would be born.”

Last Sentence: “And maybe, for now, that was all the truth I needed.”

My Rating: 5/5!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

How do I review a book that blew my mind? This book blew away all my expectations and has now turn me on to fantasy for life! 

Right away you meet Lia who is Princess of Morrighan and the first daughter. With being the first daughter comes a responsibility that Lia just doesn’t want, so she decides to make her own future. Her and her lady Pauline, set off on an adventure of their own that will change both their lives. They end up in Pauline’s home town Terravin, where both girls work and start living a life they want. Lia falls in love with Terravin right away but she still has feelings about her old life and if she made the right choice. To complicate things more, two mystery guys come into Lia’s life, one could be her ex-fiance(who she never met) and the other could be her assassin.  This story just weaves an magical place and really makes you feel like you are right there living it with them. The title really fits the book because you are deceived so many times, I honestly had to go back and re-read chapters because I was reading it wrong. I honestly loved this book and think anyone who wants to start reading fantasy, this is a great book to start with. The second book is due to come out July of this year and I am counted my days till it is in my hands!

Let me know below if you have read this and what you thought of it or if you plan on reading it, which you should! 🙂

Find it on Goodreads.

Buy it on Amazon.

Get to know the Author.

As Always,

Happy Reading!!!!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Goodreads, My Reviews! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Kiss of Deception By Mary E. Pearson

  1. I definitely plan on reading this!!

  2. I just recently read and reviewed this and even though I had a few issues with it, I did enjoy it overall

Leave a Reply

