Haunted By Lynn Carthage

haunted

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Phoebe Irving has traded life in San Francisco for her stepfather’s ancestral mansion in rural England. It’s supposed to be the new start her family needs. But from the moment she crosses the threshold into the ancient estate, Phoebe senses something ominous. Then again, she’s a little sensitive lately—not surprising when her parents are oblivious to her, her old life is six thousand miles away, and the only guy around is completely gorgeous but giving her mixed messages.

But at least Miles doesn’t laugh at Phoebe’s growing fears. And she can trust him…maybe. The locals whisper about the manor’s infamous original owner, Madame Arnaud, and tell grim stories of missing children and vengeful spirits. Phoebe is determined to protect her loved ones—especially her little sister, Tabby. But even amidst the manor’s dark shadows, the deepest mysteries may involve Phoebe herself…

***I receive this copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank You Netgalley and Kensington Publishing.*****

Title: Haunted

Author: Lynn Carthage

Publisher: Kensington Publishing

Published: February 24, 2015

First Sentence: “You know you’ve done something pretty awful when your family moves because of it.”

Last Sentence: “My last glance, however, was for Tabby, sitting back down to her puzzle with all the nonchalance of infancy.”

My Rating: 4/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

I love all books set in a old castle in England, It’s true love. Haunted has that back drop of an old abandon castle with ghosts lingering in the hall ways.

creepy

The main character Phoebe is a teenage girl who can’t remember what she did to make her parents move from sunny California to gloomy England. All she really knows it must of been pretty bad for them to move thousands of miles. I liked phoebe right from the beginning, she’s a swimmer and loves to read and i want to be a  “Literary Mermaid” with her.

literary mermaid

I had a hard time rating this book, I went from 3.5 to 4 and then down to 3 but family I settle on 4 because of the ending. I feel this is a great start to a series and it was as scary as I was hoping for. I truly felt sorry for phoebe and how she yearned for her parents attention. And when she knew she needed to protect her little sister Tabby, I felt her anger and sadness. The only part that made me a little crazy was her and Miles relationship. I felt like he wasn’t developed enough for me and she just liked him way too fast. The ending really broke my heart and made me cry (which really isn’t that hard to do). I will definitely be continuing on with this series and can’t wait to see what happens next.

Find it on Goodreads.

Buy it Amazon.

Find the Author.

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Goodreads, My Reviews! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Haunted By Lynn Carthage

  1. Viper & Plum says:

    This sounds great! I love spooky old mansions in England with vengeful ghosts and lots of secrets. Going on my must read list, thanks!

Leave a Reply

