A Magic Dark and Bright By Jenny Adams Perinovic

a magic

Synopsis:

She meant to help a ghost…not unleash a curse.

Amelia Dupree hasn’t seen the Woman in White since the night her brother died. 

The ghost seems to have disappeared from the woods surrounding Asylum, Pennsylvania—that is, until Charlie Blue moves into the creepy old MacAllister House next door. Amelia can’t help liking him, even though she spent her childhood thinking his grandmother was a witch. And she definitely can’t ignore the connection between his arrival and the Woman in White’s return. 

Then Amelia learns that the Woman in White is a prisoner, trapped between the worlds of the living and the dead. Devastated by the idea that her brother could be suffering a similar fate, Amelia decides to do whatever it takes to help the Woman in White find peace–and Charlie agrees to help her.

But when Amelia’s classmates start to drown in the Susquehanna River, one right after another, rumors swirl as people begin to connect the timing of Charlie’s arrival with the unexplained deaths. As Charlie and Amelia uncover the dark history of Asylum, they realize they may have unleashed an unspeakable evil. One they have to stop before everything they love is destroyed.

******I received this copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank You Netgalley and Jenny Adams Perinovic.******

Title: A Magic Dark and Bright

Author: Jenny Adams Perinovic

Publisher: Bookish Girl Press

Published: April 28, 2015

First Sentence: “A woman haunted the woods behind my house.”

Last Sentence: “We have so much work to do.”

My Rating: 5/5 <3<3<3<3<3 

My Thoughts:

I got approved for this book over a month ago and kept putting it off, I so regret that. This book is one the best I have read so far this year. This is a YA Paranormal, which is my favorite genre and has a little romance mixed in. Ms. Perinovic really knows how to spin a magical, scary tale. The main character is Amelia who has lost her brother in a very tragic way. She also has a ghost living in the woods next to her house, Oh and her neighbor might be a witch. just from those couple of sentences, doesn’t that sound like an awesome book? Yes, yes it does and I want everyone who reads this to pick up a copy.

I want to talk about her neighbor’s grandson who has a mustang and wears glasses and stole my heart. His name is Charlie Blue and he becomes Amelia’s favorite person and helper in figuring out this ghost. He actually is probably my favorite character in this book, as well as his grandmom. The history the author throws in this book is great and really brought the whole story together. I really can’t praise this book anymore. Pick it up!!!!

Most of the time I use this last paragraph to talk about some things I don’t like or want to change in a book but I honestly have nothing to say. There isn’t one thing to complain about. All the characters are very well rounded and the mystery she throws in there was defiantly hard to figure out. I am so happy there will be another one which might be out this winter. 

Find it on Goodreads.

Buy it on Amazon.

Find the Author.

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Goodreads, My Reviews! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

