Graphic Novel: Saved By the Bell (Vol 1) By Joelle Sellner

saved by the bell

The classic TV series gets an update for today’s brand new high-schoolers as the coolest kids at Bayside High start their freshman year!

All your favorite characters – Zack, Slater, Kelly, Lisa, Screech and Jessie (and Mr. Belding, of course!) – are starting freshman year at Bayside High, trading in brick phones and mullets for iPhones and Twitter accounts. Does Lisa’s fashion show get on the air, and will Screech ever leave her alone? Will Jessie get that A+? And, most importantly, who’s Kelly going to go out with – preppy Zack or new star athlete A.C. Slater? It’s alright, ‘cause we’re saved by the bell!


Title: Saved By the Bell (VOl 1)

Author: Joelle Sellner

Illustrators: Chynna Clugston Flores and  Tim Fish

Publisher: Roar Comics

Published: July 1, 2015

My Ratings: 4/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

***Thank You Netgalley and Roar Comics for letting me review this in exchange for an honest review***

I grew up watching Saved By the Bell, my favorite memory is waking up for school when I was about 8 or 9 and my mom would have the reruns on while we were getting ready and I loved it! Of course I was in love with Zach Morris and would write his name all over my papers and notebooks. Saved By the Bell will always have a great spot in my heart. Of course when I saw this graphic novel I knew I had to have it in my life. This was so much fun reading and I loved the art in it. This has more of a modern feel compare to the show which was very late 80’s early 90’s. I do miss Zach’s big old cell phone, they switch that out for a more modern phone. The only reason I couldn’t give it a 5 heart rating is because I am so use to the show that I kept comparing, which I shouldn’t have but I did. I feel like anyone can enjoy this GN, if you are younger and don’t really know a lot of Saved By the Bell than you might like it more because it will be all new for you. I honestly can’t wait to get my own copy and I am ready for a second volume of this!

Find it on Goodreads.

Buy it on Amazon.

Buy it on Barnes&Noble.

Also look for it at your local library!

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Graphic novels, My Reviews! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

