How To be Brave By E. Katherine Kottaras

how to be braveSynopsis: An emotional contemporary YA novel about love, loss, and having the courage to chase the life you truly want.

Reeling from her mother’s death, Georgia has a choice: become lost in her own pain, or enjoy life right now, while she still can. She decides to start really living for the first time and makes a list of fifteen ways to be brave – all the things she’s wanted to do but never had the courage to try. As she begins doing the things she’s always been afraid to do – including pursuing her secret crush, she discovers that life doesn’t always go according to plan. Sometimes friendships fall apart and love breaks your heart. But once in a while, the right person shows up just when you need them most – and you learn that you’re stronger and braver than you ever imagined.

Title: How To Be Brave

Author: E. Katherine Kottaras

Publisher: St. Martin Griffin

Published: November 3, 2015

Cover Rating: 5/5 stars!

My Rating: 4.5/5  ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

***I was sent this copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank You St. Martin’s Press and Michelle Cashman.***

This book put me on an emotional roller coaster, right form the first chapter I was crying and hooked. I can relate so well with the main character Georgia. She is like your typically teenager she has insecurities, weight problems and really just trying to survive high school. What really connected me with her is the lost of her mom. Losing a mother at any age is hard but being a teenage girl and having your mom die right when you feel like you need her the most is life changing.  I lost my mom at 15 and this hit so close to home. The way the author described how Georgia was feeling was so real, I honestly had to stop reading once in a while. I will admit I did ugly cry threw most of this book. Even tho this book did have a lot of sadness in it, it did have parts that made me laugh out loud. she has a best friend name Liss, who is such a great friend. I love how she pushes Georgia to step out of her comfort zone and really live. There is one character who really pulled at my heart, her name is Evelyn and she is a total mess but I just want to hug her.  Of course there is a love interest but it wasn’t like a overpowering, annoying kinda of love. All the characters were very relatable and great to read about!

This really was a fun and emotional book. I love the writing and can’t wait for this author to write something else!

Find the author Here.

Buy the book on Amazon.

Find it on Goodreads.

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How To be Brave By E. Katherine Kottaras

  1. hermionefowl says:

    Ugly crying is the mark of a good book in my opinion 🙂

Leave a Reply

