Instructions for the End of the World by Jamie Kain

jamie kainHe prepared their family for every natural disaster known to man—except for the one that struck.

When Nicole Reed’s father forces her family to move to a remote area of the Sierra Foothills, one without any modern conveniences, it’s too much too handle for her mother, who abandons them in the middle of the night. Heading out to track her down, Nicole’s father leaves her in charge of taking care of the house and her younger sister, Izzy. For a while, Nicole is doing just fine running things on her own. But then the food begins to run out, the pipes crack, and forest fires start slowly inching their way closer every day. Wolf, a handsome boy from the neighboring community, offers to help her when she needs it most, but when she starts to develop feelings for him, feelings she knows she will never be allowed to act on once her father returns, she must make a decision. With her family falling apart, will she choose to continue preparing for tomorrow’s disasters, or will she take a chance and really start living for today?

Instructions for the End of the World is a gripping, young adult novel that explores family, friendship, and love in the midst of the most difficult and dangerous circumstances.

Title: Instructions for the End of the World

Author: Jamie Kain

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Published: December 9, 2015

First Sentence: “By the time you return, maybe the end will have come.”

Last Sentence: “We are a part of every living thing around us, and we are a whole world unto ourselves.”

Cover Rating: 5/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Rating: 4.75/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ .75

My Thoughts:

*** I was sent a copy from St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review.Thank you St. Martin’s Press.***

This was a very interesting book. I didn’t know what to expect going in but I was intrigued. The first thing I really liked about this book was the cover, the simplicity of it makes me want to read and go to that spot. I also liked that it wasn’t an huge book. It is 214 pages and it is just nice to read a book that isn’t 400 or 500 pages. Now let’s talk about what is inside this little book. The main character is Nicole and she has a very interesting way of living because of her dad. Her dad is always planning for the end of the world or a major disaster and he is trying to raise his two daughters like that to. Nicole listens to her father and try to be the daughter he wants, her sister Izzy is the total opposite. Their father moves them to the middle of nowhere and their mother has had enough. So while their dad is trying to find their mother they are left alone to survive and figure out who they are. You also meet Wolf who lives in a spiritual retreat center, who is making a tree house on Nicole’s dads property. Nicole is very hard on herself and just wants to do what her dad says and that’s it, but with her dad gone she has to learn who she is and wolf and her sister helps her with that. I feel like Wolf was my favorite character and I love the way he described nature and the trees, I honestly stop now and admire the trees a little more.I also appreciated Nicoles and Wolfs relationship, it wasn’t instant love. It felt very real and how teenagers would be. I truly love the writing of this book. Ms. kain is an amazing writer and I love how her writing is almost poetic. I feel like this book could be  be a required book that all teenagers are reading in high school, I just feel like it has such a deeper meaning. I think everyone should pick this up and give it a try.

Find it on Goodreads.

learn more about about Jamie Kain.

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Goodreads, My Reviews!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

