Firsts By Laurie Elizabeth Flynn Review + Book Trailer

firstsSeventeen-year-old Mercedes Ayres has an open-door policy when it comes to her bedroom, but only if the guy fulfills a specific criteria: he has to be a virgin. Mercedes lets the boys get their awkward, fumbling first times over with, and all she asks in return is that they give their girlfriends the perfect first time- the kind Mercedes never had herself.

Keeping what goes on in her bedroom a secret has been easy- so far. Her absentee mother isn’t home nearly enough to know about Mercedes’ extracurricular activities, and her uber-religious best friend, Angela, won’t even say the word “sex” until she gets married. But Mercedes doesn’t bank on Angela’s boyfriend finding out about her services and wanting a turn- or on Zach, who likes her for who she is instead of what she can do in bed.

When Mercedes’ perfect system falls apart, she has to find a way to salvage her reputation and figure out where her heart really belongs in the process. Funny, smart, and true-to-life, FIRSTS is a one-of-a-kind young adult novel about growing up.

 

 

Title: Firsts

Author: Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Published: January 5, 2016

Cover Rating: 4/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Rating: 4/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

*** I was sent a copy from St. Martin’s Press in exchange for an honest review.Thank you St. Martin’s Press.***

I always say that I am not a huge contemporary fan but I feel like that is changing more and more. This is a YA contemporary almost pushing the new adult line because of some of the content. I have such mix emotions about this book. I liked the book but the main character annoyed me so much. I didn’t care about who she had sex with but the way she was towards certain people really rubbed me the wrong way. On the other hand I felt bad for her. I mean her mom is a terrible mother, her dad isn’t around and she has no value for herself, which just breaks my heart. When you start to realize why she does the things she does you really start to feel bad for her. I liked some of the other characters especially Zach. Zach is the sweetest guy and I was rooting for them from the beginning. I also liked Faye from the get go, she was feisty and did what she wanted to do.  Also Angela, who is Mercy’s best friend, I really love her and I cried for her. I feel like this book has a lot of good qualities but also will make you yell and want to smack some people. Which for me if a book can bring out that many emotions it has to be at least a 4 star book. 

If you like YA contemporary I think you will like this but be warned that there is a lot of underage sex. I will pick up whatever else Ms. Flynn rights, I love her writing style!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
LLLaurie Elizabeth Flynn went to school for journalism and later worked as a model, a job that took her overseas to Tokyo, Athens, and Paris. She lives in London, Ontario, with her husband and her Chihuahua.

SOCIAL LINKS
Author’s Website
Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Goodreads, My Reviews!, New Author, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

