Book Review: How to Hang a Witch By Adriana Mather

how-to-hang-a-witchSalem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren’t enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials. Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with The Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it’s Salem. But history may be about to repeat itself.

 

Title: How to Hang a Witch

Author: Adriana Mather

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Published: July 26th 2016

Cover Rating: 4/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Rating: 5/5 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

My Thoughts:

Have you ever read a book and just wanted it never to end? You probably have but I feel like I don’t read enough books like that. Books that just make me love reading all over again, that makes me want to really tackle my ginormous TBR pile. That is what this book did for me, it really is everything I ever wanted in a book. Now let me tell you about this book that made me love life again.

This book takes place in modern day Salem, Massachusetts; Which everyone should know is where the Salem witch trials happen. Our main character Samantha is a descendant of Cotton Mather, who was a big player in getting the witches hanged. Samantha moves to Salem after her dad mysteriously goes into a coma and now her and her step mother are living in her family home. She doesn’t want to be there and to make things worse the descendants of the witches don’t want her there either.

The one thing you need to know about Sam is she thinks she is cursed. Her whole life anyone who got near her ended up hurt or sick. So she automatically think her dad being in a coma is her fault. She doesn’t realize this “curse” is bigger then she thinks.

I always suck at writing reviews about books I love. I never can find the right words and nothing makes sense when I write. So all I am going to say is please go and pick up this book, you really won’t regret it!

Social Links:

Twitter

Goodreads

Amazon

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, My Reviews!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

