I’m Back! Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hi! My Friends!! I know I have been gone for a hot minute but life was just too crazy for me to do anything really. And to be really honest I was diagnosed with Anxiety and Depression last year and learning how to cope with that and life was too much for me to handle. I am going to write a whole post on what I have gone through and what has helped me but this post is not about that.

So as you can see by the title I am coming back and doing a tag because tags are fun and makes me happy. I will link everyone down below who created it and who I saw do it, so please go check out their booktube channels and show them some love ❤ .

 

First Question: Best book you read so far in 2017?

So, this is a hard one. I have read 48 books as of today. I have read a mixture of graphic novels, children books, regular books, really everything. But my favorite would have to be Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in fifteen suggestions By Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

I have never read a book like this before, which makes me sad because this is such an important book. I picked this up because my brother in law and his wife just had their first baby!! Insert cutest baby picture ever!! I wanted to see if this was something I should get for my sister in law and honestly it changed my life and I am buying everyone I know a copy.

 

Question Two: Best sequel you read so far in 2017?

I haven’t read hardly any sequels and I think all the sequels I read have been graphic novels. So my answer is Saga Vol. 7 By Brian K. Vaughn. I love this series so much and it gets better with every volume!

 

 

 

Question Three: New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

 

This was kinda easy, Always and Forever, Lara Jean By Jenny Han. This is such a cute and lovable series and I am so happy Ms. Han decided to give us a third book. Now I just need to read it!

 

 

 

 

Question Four: Most Anticipated releases for the second half of the year?

I have two answers for this. My first most anticipated release is Haunting the Deep By Adriana Mather, it is schedule to release on October 3, 2017. I loved How to Hang a Witch so much last year and I think I might re-read it soon.

I am also super excited The Girl Who Saved Ghosts By K.C. Tansley, which is due to release on October 17, 2017. The first book, The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts was such a fun paranormal book and I have been waiting so long for another book in this series!

 

Question Five: Biggest disappointment?

 

This was another easy one to answer, Alex and Ada Vol. 3 by Jonathan Luna. I loved volume one and two and was so let down in volume three. I feel like he just rushed it and it was terrible. 😦 😦 😦

 

Question Six: Biggest Surprise?

Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch  takes this hands down. I am not a huge contemporary reader but this book made me love this genre. I fell in love with every little piece of this book!  I want to go to Italy right now and live in a graveyard!

Oh no, I forgot to mention this book, Every Heart a Doorway By Seanan McGuire. This book surprised me because it so little and seems so weird but it all works so beautifully together. One of my favorites this year as well.

 

 

Question Seven: Favorite New Author(Debut or new to you)?

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is the first person that comes to mind. I will honestly read the back of a cereal box if she wrote it. Such an amazing writer.

 

 

 

Also Seanan McGuire is a new favorite author for me. I just love her writing and how magical everything is .

 

Question Eight: Newest Fictional Crush?

Well the first one that comes to mind is Chaol Westfall from Throne of Glass. I love him so much and if she doesn’t end up with him I will cry.

I also have a small crush on Jack from Every Heart a Doorway. Something about her is very real and it makes me want to be her friend or just get inside her head. I can’t be the only one out there crushing?!?!?

 

Questions Nine: Newest Favorite Character?

Hmmm I think I will go with Liv from Dream a Little Dream by Kerstin Gier. I just finished this book and really loved it. Kerstin’s books are so different and fun. Liv is such a smart mouth girl who had me laughing so much, I also adore who little sister Mia who might be funnier then Liv.

 

Question Ten: Book that made you cry?


I have two for this question. The first one that popped in my head was Applesauce Weather by Helen Frost. This is a middle grade novel I picked up at the library one day and it made me cry like 4 times. I feel like this is why I stay away from middle grade because it always gives me the feels.

This second book made me cry all through the book. It is And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer by Fredrik Backman. This book is very short and it has so much emotions in it and made me smile and cry all the way through. Ughhh just thinking about it makes me tear up.

 

 

Question Eleven: Book that made me happy?

Love & Gelato made me smile the whole time. I just feel happy thinking about it. Contemporary’s just has a way of making your heart smile.

 

Question Twelve: Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year?

I think the prettiest cover I bought so far this year is The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney. This cover is so pretty and makes me smile.

 

Question Thirteen: What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I am just going to link my I own TBR shelf from Goodreads. I need to read all these books!

 

Well I hope you liked this tag and I hope you guys are happy I am back! I will try to have a couple posts up a week but no promises ha ha ha.

Where I found this tag at:

Lala over at BooksandLala 

And the creators of this tag is:

Chami over at ReadLikeWildfire

Ely over at Earl Grey Books 

Please go and check out their channels and leave some love and Don’t forget to leave some love for me. Tell me all about the books you are loving so far this year, lets chat in the comments! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Northern Belle Bookworm

I am a lover of books! I spend my time holding, smelling and just gazing at them!
This entry was posted in books, Goodreads, Graphic novels, My Favorites, New Author, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

